5-Day Short Term Course on



(February 18-22, 2020)


Over the past decade, there have been several studies on performance-based design of structures using uniform-hazard spectrum for a fixed return period. The current suite of performance based design methods, does not take into account the risk due to earthquake ground motions with return periods other than that considered in the design. This leads to inconsistent values of failure probabilities for the structures at different locations. Risk targeted seismic design is the emerging method to achieve consistent probabilities of targeted performance levels for structures with different properties. The principle of risk targeted seismic design methods is convolution of seismic hazard curve with the fragility curve of the structure to establish probability of failure. Working knowledge of probabilistic seismic hazard, non-linear modelling of structural components, non-linear time history analysis, damage states/performance definitions, and probabilistic methods is essential to estimate the seismic risk. The course is outlined to address various components of risk targeted seismic design for the comprehensive understanding of recent advancements.


The objective of the course is to familiarize with the recent advancements in risk targeted seismic design. The course discuses estimation of seismic hazard in relevance to performance based seismic design, basics of structural dynamics, reliability methods and non-linear analysis of RC and steel buildings. The training on risk targeted seismic design will be focused on fragility analysis of buildings, incremental dynamics analysis, selection of ground motions, multi-stripe analysis, estimation of failure probabilities. The objectives are as follows:


Prof. Mahendra P. Singh

Mahendra P. Singh is Preston Wade Professor emeritus in Virginia Tech. A member of the Virginia Tech community since 1977, Singh has developed an international reputation in earthquake engineering, random vibrations, composite structures, performance based seismic design, and health monitoring of civil infrastructure elements such as buildings and bridge structures. He has received several professional awards, including the 1998 Markwardt Wood Engineering Award for the best journal paper from the Forest Product Society, the 1996 George G. Marra Award from the Society of Wood Science and Technology, and the 1992 Robert J. McGratten Literature Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Pressure Vessels and Piping Division.

Prof. M. L. Sharma

M. L. Sharma is a Professor in the Department of Earthquake Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee. His area of expertise are Engineering Seismology, Seismotectonics, Seismic hazard analysis, Digital telemetered seismic arrays, SAR Interferometry, Strong ground motion prediction, Seismic Microzonation.

Prof. Yogendra Singh

Yogendra Singh is a Professor in the Department of Earthquake Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee. His area of expertise are Performance Based Seismic Design, Performance Based Design of Buildings and Bridges, Seismic Response Evaluation of Structures, Non-Linear Modelling and Analysis of RC Structures, Seismic Evaluation and Retrofitting of Structures, Seismic Evaluation and Retrofit of Hospitals and Schools, Seismic Vulnerability and Risk Evaluation, Seismic Vulnerability ans Risk Analysis of Indian Housing Stock, Dynamic Soil-Structure Interaction, Effect of Soil on Seismic Performance of Buildings, Towers, and Bridges, Seismic Risk In Hilly Areas, Sesimic Fragility Analysis of Hill Buildings, Seismic Risk In Hilly Areas, Slope-Building Interaction under Seismic Action.

Prof. Manish Shrikhande

Manish Shrikhande is a Professor in the Department of Earthquake Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee. His area of expertise are Computational mechanics, Random vibrations, Structural Reliability, Strong Motion Studies, Soil-Structure Interaction, Vibration Control, Probabilistic mechanics.

Prof. P. C. Ashwin Kumar

P. C. Ashwin Kumar is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Earthquake Engineering, IIT Roorkee. His area of expertise include Seismic analysis and design of steel braced frames, Seismic retrofitting of structures, and Finite element modelling of structures.

Prof. Saurabh Shiradhonkar

Saurabh Shiradhonkar is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Earthquake Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee. His area of expertise are Seismic damage assessment, Structural reliability and risk assessment, Performance evaluation of structures, Post-earthquake safety assessment, Repair, Rehabilitation and Retrofitting of structures, and Vibration Control, Nonlinear analysis of structures.

Important Dates


Department of Earthquake Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee
Uttarakhand, INDIA Roorkee - 247667

Course Schedule

Coming Soon

Course Fee

Course Fee is as follows:

Accommodation charges are not included in the course fee.

Registration Procedure

Step 1

Pay applicable course fee to following account through NEFT/Transfer and keep a note of a transaction detail. The account details are as follows:

Name of the Bank: STATE BANK OF INDIA
Account No.: 33136732957
IFSC Code: SBIN0001069

Step 2

Fillup the registration form with the required details.

Other Information

Postal Address

Department of Earthquake Engineering,
Indian Institute of Technology,
Uttarakhand (India)

E-mail your queries